If you have been reading my blog for the past week or so you know that I’ve had a bit of bad luck and things haven’t really been going “my way”.  I know someone else has a plan for me I just really wish I knew what it was or could get a sneak peek so I know better days are ahead.  I know everything happens for a reason and I’m really trying to understand my own advice.  I saw something today that puts things into perspective.

Today I went for a walk around Fowler Lake with my friend Leyla and took MDog with us.  We both got a cup of coffee at the coffee shop by the gazebo and off we went.  We were gabbing about her life, my life, what we’ve been up to the last couple weeks.  She’s not on Facebook so I was catching her up on the ramifications of Friday the 13th and the salt shakers, stitches and my cancelled trip.  We were on the last leg of our walk when we came up to the church kitty corner from where we parked and heard church bells.  We didn’t think anything of it until we were about half a block from the church and saw a casket draped with an American Flag being carried out of the church by Marines.   We stopped and thought maybe we should cross the street and keep walking but we didn’t.  Out of respect for the deceased we stopped walking and stood there.  We looked at each other and just started crying.  We have no idea who the funeral is for but it didn’t matter.  Everyone came out of the church and turned the corner.  We weren’t sure where they were going but once we couldn’t see them anymore we continued our walk.  Once we came to the corner we saw where they went and knew what was going to happen next.  There were more soldiers lined up with guns ready to do a three-volley salute.  Behind them was another solider with a trumpet ready to play Taps (I’m crying again while I’m writing this).

We stopped again.  We started to cry again before the guns were fired and Taps was played.  It didn’t feel right to continue our walk complaining how things “haven’t gone our way” the last couple weeks.  At least we woke up today.  The guns went off and MDog freaked out.  I completely forgot I even had her with me.  All I could think about was how the man or woman, the son or daughter in the casket lost their life probably defending our country and her I am complaining about my flight being canceled and not seeing my Oregon and California clerk friends.  Or how I’m unexpectedly home for the weekend or how my hand still hurts from the stitches in them.  Leyla and I just stood there with tears streaming down our face.  We watched the Marines fold the flag and hand it to who we assumed are the deceased’s parents.

I hope the family doesn’t think we were staring or being disrespectful.  We were trying to do the opposite.  We thought it would have been disrespectful to carry on with our walk and our life while they were saying goodbye to another life.  I said a silent prayer for the deceased and the family and told God I was sorry for complaining about how things “aren’t going my way”.  They certainly aren’t going the way that family thought they would be.  Instead they are burying a loved one today and my heart was and still is breaking for them.  Once the soldiers were done we carried on with our walk and made our way back to our vehicles.  We didn’t have much to say after that.  What could we say?  It didn’t seem right to finish whatever it was we were talking about before we came upon the funeral.  In fact, I can’t even remember what we were talking about.  It doesn’t matter.  I hope the family of the deceased finds peace and God helps them heal over the loss of their loved one.

Gina

 

7 responses »

  1. ioniamartin says:

    And it is because you are the type of person that can stop and appreciate something like that which makes you so amazing.

  2. Very compelling story. Makes us want to appreciate all that we have and forget the small problems.

  3. Karen gray says:

    What a wonderful post, prospective like this is good for us all.

  4. busyb64 says:

    I have tears streaming down my face reading this. Taps have always made me cry. Having a daughter who is a soldier, what you saw today is my worst fear. Sometimes things like this are all it takes to make you realize just how lucky you really are!!

  5. Joyce Moravec Foy says:

    Excellent blog. Thanks for posting it.

  6. mrsgillies says:

    Yeah, wow. That does put life into perspective.

Leave a Reply

