Last week I saw this video posted on Facebook and it really struck me.  I was crying by the end of it.   Please watch it, especially if you are a lady.   You go watch, I’ll wait here………

http://www.upworthy.com/2-people-described-the-same-person-to-a-forensic-artist-and-this-is-what-happene

Done?  Ok, let’s discuss.

I think this video is very powerful and shows us how women really tend to view themselves; negatively.  I know when I was done watching it I was in tears.  This video really showed me how I view myself.

I’ll be honest.  I don’t see myself as the most attractive person (from the neck down anyway) but I’m working on that from the inside and the outside.  I’ve been overweight just about my whole life, especially as an adult.  So as an overweight woman you don’t really feel all that attractive.  I’ve never been thin so I have no idea what it looks like on me or feels like.  You know that saying “nothing tastes as good as thin feels”?  Yes?  I don’t understand it…yet…hopefully one day I will.

Yes there are things I wish I could change about me, some I can change, some I can’t.  I’m working on getting the extra weight off which is a lifestyle change not a diet.  It’s working.  I would say “it didn’t’ go on fast” but you know what?  Some of it really did.  I’m averaging about 2.2 pounds a week and I think that’s pretty good progress.

I wish I could change my nose, I think it’s too big for my face.  I’m sure I could get a nose job but I”m saving my plastic surgery card for when I’m at my goal weight and have a shit ton of excess skin to get rid of.

I love my eyes but will always have glasses on my face so you can’t get that full affect of my green/hazel eyes.

I also have a (what I think is a) huge forehead.  I’ve learned to embrace it and work with it, not against it.

I like my feet.

My elbows are pretty nice.

I have very sexy earlobes too.

I would totally volunteer for an experiment like this.  I know how I think about myself and I do make jokes about my weight.  After watching this video I’m going to be more aware of how I talk about myself and my weight.

How do you see yourself?  What did you think of the video?

Gina

8 responses »

  1. ioniamartin says:

    This is amazing! I feel my nose is too big too, especially for my ancestry. I have body dysmorphic disorder so I totally get what you mean by having to learn to make progress towards self acceptance. Thank you for sharing this.

    • mdog32 says:

      Your’e welcome. It’s not easy to like everything about yourself. I have pretty good self confidence. I don’t think I’m ugly but I think I’m pretty normal looking. I think the weight loss will help me with that because my face is changing. I’m sure as I lose the weight I will feel prettier. Years ago I had sleep apnea surgery and the ENT surgeon took it upon himself to “shave off the bump on the bridge of my nose” which i was grateful for!! So i guess I technically did already have a nose job. :-P

  2. Carol Gresch says:

    You’ve always been and always will be beautiful to me.

  3. LaGuagui says:

    Yes. So many times, yes.
    Those who say it cant be done. Should not interrupt those that are doing it. Even if its your own reflection.
    Dont let yourself tear you down. Stay positive. Not just verbally, but internally too.

  4. Barb says:

    I loved the video! It’s so, so true! I have been working on the negative self-talk thing, too. We are our own worst enemies, we are much more critical of how we see ourselves, and we don’t realize how nicely others see us.

    I only know you through FB and this blog. I’ve seen hundreds of photos of you and not once, for even a fraction of a second did I ever think your nose was too big. And your forehead…I have one of those, too; higher than the Sears Tower (or whatever name it is this month). But I wear bangs and always have.

    The thing I am most self conscience of is that I don’t have any “real” eyebrows and haven’t had any for oh, decades! Yanked ‘em out in the 6th grade when kids called me bush man or bush woman and over the years, from tweezing and then thyroid problems, they just went away. I’ve had them tattooed twice, hurts like hell!!! Oh well….

    You’re doing great on your road to a healthy weight, I’m sure when I get to meet you in person in September you will be down a couple more sizes!! Keep up the Great work!!

Leave a Reply

